Quick Reference Guide to Critical Deadlines in Chapter 13 Cases

I have to confess – sifting through the Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure is not my strong suit, especially when I’m trying to find a deadline or grounds for an extension of time in a hurry.  That’s why I first wrote a Quick Reference Guide to Critical Deadlines in Chapter 13 Cases a few years ago for the NACTT Academy‘s Toolbox (plus, right after BAPCPA, some of the rules were more restrictive in terms of when the court could grant extensions of time, and practitioners needed to know which rules were unforgiving).

This version of the Quick Reference Guide to Critical Deadlines in Chapter 13 Cases is updated and includes a few comments and local rule references specific to the Eastern District of Kentucky, but for the most part the guide can be used by chapter 13 debtors’ attorneys and creditors’ attorneys practicing in any jurisdiction (I’ll soon be updating the version on the NACTT Academy’s website without the local rules).

There are 4 sections to this 10-page Quick Reference Guide (all related to chapter 13 cases only):

  • Deadlines Applicable Primarily To Actions Taken By Debtors;
  • Deadlines Applicable Primarily To Actions Taken By Creditors Or Trustee;
  • Deadlines Applicable To Actions Taken By Any Party; and
  • Rules Applicable To Extensions Of Deadlines.

Click here to open/download/print a PDF copy of the Quick Reference Guide to Critical Deadlines in Chapter 13 Cases.  I hope you find it useful, but remember – I might be wrong; I might change my mind about my interpretation of the relevant rules, so do your own research (but please let me know if you find an error in the Guide!).

 

Leave a Reply

